Yummy Yummy Plants

One of the many things I want to discuss in this blog is other sources of information, such as books and documentaries.

Forks Over Knives is a documentary, which is so popular they made a recipe book, so we can cook all of the delicious meals we see in the movie! If you haven’t seen this film, then I highly recommend it.  The movies is about the many health benefits of a plant-based, whole foods diet.

While the film and it’s many participants are vegan, let me be clear, I am not a vegetarian or a vegan. When I had to change the way I eat because of my migraines and stomach problems, I switched to a plant-based, whole foods diet with some meat and dairy. A lot of the film is about cutting out animal products–a very controversial topic, which I’m sure we will discuss more in this blog. The reason I’m recommending Forks Over Knives is because it helped me understand much of the nutritional information I’d been hearing from various people (including my acupuncturist). The points I think are most important in the movie are the ones about drastically reducing consumption of processed foods, sugar, and oil. Then, replacing those foods with whole grains, fruits and vegetables.

Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins from Happy Herbivore Cookbook p.42

So for all the omnivores out there, I want to encourage you to watch this movie or read the cookbook. Since changing my nutritional plan, I’ve been reading a lot of vegan books and vegan blogs (check out the Delicious Blogs list on the side).I realized, even if you’re not vegan there is a lot you can eat on a whole foods, plant based diet. Don’t let the controversy surrounding animal products keep you from seeing the many health benefits of plants!

Apple Crisp Muffins from Happy Herbivore Cookbook p. 40

No, this doesn’t mean tofu, veggie burgers and tofurkey! Please understand all vegan products and recipes are not necessarily healthier. Sometimes they can be just as fatty, processed, or sugary as non-vegan. So as always think before you eat.

If you’re curious about vegan food but not sure where to start then I would like to recommend, the Happy Herbivore. The author, Lindsay, focuses on healthy, low fat, simple and easy vegan cooking. Plus, she is super upbeat and positive. I love her cookbook and her blog!

I wanted to put more pictures of the vegan food I’ve cooked, but I guess the only pictures I have are of muffins. I’ll try to remember to take more photos!

Have you read or seen Forks Over Knives? What did you think? If not, what have you heard about plant based, whole foods diets?

6 comments

  1. I love that you guys are doing this! I look forward to reading the new posts. You two make me feel like I’m not alone in my crazy new food philosophy 🙂

    Also, Debbie, check out some of the Green Monster smoothie recipes on Oh She Glows. I tried her basic spinach, almond milk, banana, flax and almond butter smoothie this weekend, and it was fantastic. Made me think of us discussing how to incorporate spinach or kale in a smoothie and still have it taste great.

  2. I think one of the other bloggers I read mentioned Oh She Glows. I’ll have to read it more. So glad you’re interested in the blog! Can’t wait to hear more from you!

  3. […] verb connote the hopeless impermanence of New Years resolutions. So if I tell people I’m on a low fat, low sugar, plant based, whole foods diet. They say, “Are you trying to lose weight?” or “How’s it working? Have you […]

  4. […] and I are mostly upbeat and positive (I think) in our blog, talking about the steps that we’re taking to get healthy […]

  5. […] being a vegetarian or a vegan is the best way to go (though I will sing the praises of a mostly plant-based whole foods diet all day), but for him, it’s a big step toward being more conscious about what he’s […]

  6. […] interested in the idea of planning whole meals. I love one pot meals, such as stir-fry and warm salad, however, I’ve wanted to step up my dinner game with a little […]

Leave a Reply

