Dinner Party!

Morning everyone! Monday is a bonus day here on the blog: Erin and I will both be posting!

As promised, this post will feature squash, specifically acorn squash.

Sweet potato, carrots and acorn squash

Mike and I hosted a small dinner party on Saturday. Erin, her boyfriend, and another friend came over and we had a great time eating, drinking and playing board/card games. NYC is busy place with so many things to do, but sometimes the most fun is when you cook and hang out at home! For dinner we had acorn squash soup and rolls to start. For the main course we had salmon, quinoa, and asparagus. Then for dessert, we had Happy Herbivore’s chocolate zucchini muffins.

Everything turned out delicious, but I want to focus on the soup for this post. The acorn squash soup is from Forks Over Knives cookbook (p.85) which references The Health Promoting Cookbook.

This was my second time cooking acorn squash. The first time I roasted it, so I was excited to try something new. I would give you the recipe, but I’m not sure what content and copyright laws apply. I’ll have to look into that for future posts. Does anyone know?

Cutting squash takes a strong, sharp knife and some muscle!

After you cut the squash open, you have to scrape out the seeds and guts.

Chop the squash and cut off the skin for this recipe, but if you're baking you can leave the skin on.

All the veggies from the first picture chopped up and ready for the pot.

I just threw the veggies into a pot with vegetable broth and boiled for 2o minutes. Then I pureed the soup in batches. Finally, I added frozen corn and heated it in the pot again.

Ready to eat!

After some experimenting, I’ve decided soups and puddings and other mixes are my favorite way to eat squash. I know a lot of people like it roasted, but I absolutely love soup! I can’t eat a lot of store bought or restaurants soups because cream and tomatoes are hard on my stomach. So I love to find vegetable based soup recipes without those two ingredients.

My next couple posts will include two more ways to prepare squash. Tomorrow, I’ll be talking about what’s in my lunch box and how to prep for a busy week! If you’re not a squash lover, don’t worry, tomorrow’s recipe includes all kinds of vegetables to mix and match!

What’s your favorite way to eat squash? Have you seen any creative recipes using squash?

8 comments

  1. I’m hungry just looking at that soup…it was so good!

    I’m thinking it would also make a nice winter breakfast, maybe sprinkled with cinnamon and nutmeg instead of salt and pepper.

    1. Mmmm yes that does sound like a good variation.

  2. Matthew Zommer · · Reply

    The farmers markets in Asheville have been exploding with squash the last couple weeks. I’ve made the following roasted squash recipe three times in last two weeks. It’s a little time consuming on the prep and baking time, but well worth it:

    4 lbs of squash, peeled, seeded and cut into 2 inch chunks
    2 large onions cut into chunks
    1 head of garlic, cloves peeled
    3 cups of veggie stock
    Salt and pepper

    Preheat oven to 375 degrees, toss squash, onion and garlic cloves with 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Pour into glass baking dish with 1 ½ cups of veggie stock. Put in oven and bake for 90 minutes stirring at least once (you’ll notice that the squash and onions will start to caramelize). If the veggie stock gets low add some more.

    After 90 minutes transfer to a large stockpot and add remaining veggie broth and salt and pepper and cook over medium heat for 20 – 30 minutes.

    Puree all ingredients in a blender (we use a Vitamix, my favorite kitchen tool). Add back to stockpot, heat and serve.

    Note: the original recipe called for butter to be added at the final stage but I find that it tastes great without the butter.

    I serve the soup with approximately two tablespoons of fresh herb goat cheese that I swirl into the soup while eating.

    Very yummy and surprisingly substantial/filling

    1. That sounds delicious! I can’t wait to try it! Thanks so much for sharing!

    2. Matthew, this sounds great! I love that there’s a whole head of garlic in there, so I definitely can’t wait to try this one out.

      Thanks for leaving the recipe, friend!

  3. So I sit down to read your latest post, and I’m laughing because I’m eating my dinner – which is half a roasted acorn squash I stuffed with apple tossed in a little butter, cinnamon, and vanilla 🙂 I’m trying to shop more economically by buying in-season produce, which means I eat a ton of squash right now.

    I’m really enjoying the posts – you and Erin are going to give me tons of new ideas about how to live a healthier life!

    1. That sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing. After all, you’re the one who got me into squash! Thanks for the feedback. I love hearing your take on things too. You’ve given me a lot of good ideas for healthy living too!

  4. […] is the third in a series of posts on squash, the first was acorn squash, and the second was kabocha squash. After Christy schooled me in squash a few weeks ago, Mike and I […]

Leave a Reply

