Off Balance

Debbie and I are mostly upbeat and positive (I think) in our blog, talking about the steps that we’re taking to get healthy and stay there, both physically and mentally.

But this is a blog about finding balance, seeking it. I think we’d be remiss, and maybe dishonest, if we didn’t share the missteps with you too.

As you know, I was off traveling this weekend, attempting to keep my schedule in some kind of place while on the road.  Those of you who travel a lot know just how challenging that can be. On top of that, I was seeing one of my best friends for the first time in ages, seeing my little sister for the first time in over six months, and trying to make a lot of wedding-related decisions in a very quick weekend.

All in all, I didn’t do great.  While I did make time for my workouts, I didn’t push myself the way I know I could’ve, and let myself get a little down about that. In looking for rehearsal dinner spots, I ate way too much rich food. During our hunt for hotels, I let myself get overloaded with information and didn’t sleep very soundly. And trying to deal with a sudden problem with our wedding space left me stressed, agitated, and unbalanced.

This isn’t a poor me post…I’m still mostly feeling good, and getting back into my rhythm at home has helped a lot.  More of a confession. Even though I’m trying hard, I still get derailed, and let the stress and irritation take over, and don’t always make the right decisions.

So I’m back, and combating my less than stellar weekend with positive energy, exercise, cooking, cleaning.  Inhabiting the space around me and settling back into feeling comfortable and taking my steps towards balance again.

How do you guys deal with it when fall off the wagon of your nutritional plan or exercise schedule? How do you get yourself back to feeling positive?

One comment

  1. It’s ok to have an off day. It’s even okay to purposely “cheat” on rare occasion.

    I think of it this way: healthy eating and exercise are two things you want to carry with you for the rest of your life. But that does not mean that you can never have a slice of double pepperoni and extra cheese pizza, or a bowl of ice cream, or skip a workout. What fun would life be if you banned things you enjoyed? Or never *ever* cut yourself any slack?

    So don’t beat yourself up. Keep focusing on good habits. You *did* get some workouts in — aside from walking I don’t think I’ve ever worked out during a weekend away. You got some necessary wedding planning done, You got to see your family and an old friend. You accomplished a lot — you don’t have to be perfect 24/7/365. 🙂

Leave a Reply

