Nutritional Counseling

Hey guys! I just got through with my first day back with my trainer after her vacation (she went scuba diving the in Caribbean!), and she definitely made me work today!

Part of my personal training involves a nutritional component, so after my workout today, Carla and I sat down together and had a long conversation about my history with food, my relationship with it now, and what I can do to keep improving my healthy eating goals.

History

My history with food is not a great one. Both of my parents were overweight when I was growing up, and we were a very busy, very involved family. These things combined led to a lot of eating out, and a lot of dinners on my own, especially in high school and college. I also realized that I’m carrying a lot of things over from my childhood eating. I just started eating breakfast this year, because we never really ate at home. I always eat a big meal for dinner, because that was always our biggest meal at home. Even though these aren’t healthy habits, I’ve kept them up, because in my head, that’s how I’m “supposed” to eat.

Relationship With Food Now

As you guys have seen in some of my posts, I’m doing much better in my eating recently. I’m making it a goal to eat breakfast every day, I’m trying to get in 80 ounces of water a day, and I’m trying to make more healthful and mindful decisions about what I’m putting into my body. But I still slip and make mistakes (obviously, mistakes are different for everyone, but I’m defining it as eating something that makes me feel physically bad after eating it). And there are holes in my eating that I didn’t know I had.

Goals to Improve Healthy Eating

  1. Eat protein and healthy fat earlier in the day. My breakfast is usually my fruit smoothie and some granola, and lunch usually doesn’t include much protein either. Typically, I don’t get any protein in my diet until supper. To feel balanced throughout the day, I’m going to try to add some almond butter to my smoothies, and make sure I’m having kale, quinoa, or beans with lunch every day.
  2. Eat my biggest meal in the middle of the day. We’ve all heard that you’re not supposed to eat close to bedtime, but if you think about it, it makes sense to eat the biggest meal earlier, when you have more time to digest it. Since I work from home and have the opportunity to determine the size of meals, this one shouldn’t be too difficult to incorporate.
  3. Eat more whole fruits and veggies. I’m really good about getting my daily serving of fruit in the smoothie, but obviously, it’s better to eat whole foods. So instead of relying on the smoothie and my applesauce to get my fruits in, I’m going to try to be an adult and eat a piece of fruit every so often.
  4. Switch up the granola. That, coupled with the fruit smoothie, is a lot of sugar first thing in the morning. I’m also going to try to add veggies to the smoothie, to cut down on the sugar intake first thing.
  5. Stay strong and consistent when I go out to restaurants. It’s easy to eat well when I’m in my little bubble at home, but sometimes, all it takes is seeing something on a menu and my resolve vanishes. I’m going to try to focus on thinking about what I want before we go out to restaurants, and when we go to places that are a little less friendly to what I want to eat, not to break down.

Sorry for the long post today, but I thought this was all pretty interesting to learn. So what are your healthy eating goals? What good or bad habits do you think you carried over from childhood?

3 comments

  1. Good habit: Dinner should always include a veggie or two. It was never anything fancy growing up — usually steamed peas, green beans, a salad, that sort of thing — but we always had fruit and veggies at dinner. I don’t usually eat fruit with dinner (I eat it at other times) but I do try to always include two servings of veggies. (And Matthew still won’t eat green beans or peas, but he will eat a small leafy green salad with me!)

    Bad habit: a sweet tooth/the idea that I should have a “bedtime snack” or dessert of some sort. (My dad, despite getting a lot healthier in the last decade, loves his ice cream like crazy, and his wife bakes a ton.) I usually don’t need to eat anything after dinner. But I often feel like I “should.” No harm in having a snack now and then, but it shouldn’t be every night, and I should lean toward a piece of fruit rather than chips, a cookie, ice cream, etc.

    God knows there are other nutritional holes in my diet … but those are two things I think are a good start to focus on.

  2. […] Erin mentioned in her post yesterday, it’s much harder to make healthy choices at a restaurant than at home. The funny […]

  3. […] strong! Deb and I briefly mentioned the temptations we try so hard to resist when we’re browsing a restaurant menu; it’s ten times harder when you’re trying […]

Leave a Reply

