Healthy Comfort Food: Quick & Easy Burritos

Good morning again! Hope everyone’s week is off to a good start!

Last night, I made some burritos from my own recipe. I use the term recipe loosely because it depends on whatever I have on hand. I love burritos, they’re warm and comforting but oftentimes unhealthy. The key to making healthy burritos is to leave off the oil and butter. My burrito was vegan, and Mike seasoned and baked a chicken breast to add to his.

Here’s a list of the ingredients I used, but most of them you can change depending on what you have. To save time get frozen onion and chopped garlic in a jar.

1 can black beans, drained & rinsed

1/2 -1 cup chopped red onion

4-5 minced garlic cloves

1 red bell pepper

jalapeño (for Mike not me)

brown rice

tortilla wraps – I spent a long time comparing all the ingredients trying to find the healthiest ones. I finally chose La Tortilla Factory Smart & Delicious Soft Wraps)

salsa – I used Fresh Direct’s which they make in house with no oil

avocado

1 cup frozen sweet corn

spices: garlic, onion, cumin, coriander, chilli powder (add cayenne & hot sauce if you like it spicy)

Happy Herbivore’s Cajun Home Fries p.30

First, I steamed brown rice and prepped the home fries. The home fries aren’t necessary, they’re just yummy and I needed to use up some russet potatoes. Instead of using oil to pan fry the vegetables, I just add water as necessary to keep them from sticking to the pan (I use a non stick pan). Cook them on high and add water and spices. Then turn to low and simmer until water disappears and spices soak in.

Mike and I figured the vegan version had about 300 calories, plus chicken was probably 350. These are just rough estimates. The point is, they were much healthier than what we would get at a restaurant. I didn’t even miss the cheese!

What do you think about “healthifying” comfort food? Do you have any favorite healthy comfort food recipes? 

7 comments

  1. Couple of comments…

    Oil and butter are not the enemy. I think it’s good to go easy on it, but a little olive oil won’t hurt ya. Fat makes food taste good, it helps our bodies absorb various nutrients and vitamins better, etc. That said you had a good dose of healthy fat with your avocado, so that’s good.

    That said I don’t think salsa should EVER have oil in it — I’ve never seen a brand that did. I think fresh salsa is fantastic, but no jarred brand I’ve ever seen contains any.

    1. Der, I forgot to mention healthy comfort food.

      I have a great recipe for lentil barley stew which can easily be vegan (swap out a touch of butter and chicken broth for canola oil and veggie broth) and is hearty, warm and filling.

      Chili is also pretty healthy — lots of fiber and protein, just go easy on the cheese. 🙂 And it’s easy to modify to use beef, chicken, turkey or no meat at all.

      1. I love lentil and barley soup! Mike loves chili but the sauce is usually tomato based right? Tomatoes are too acidic for me to eat much. We’ll probably make a big pot for Mike soon and then freeze some in small portions.

        As for oil and butter…no they’re not the enemy. I’m just excited to know they aren’t necessary to cook. They can be left out of a lot of recipes and I don’t really notice.

        I agree we need fat in our diets, but there are many ways to get it from whole foods. Like you said, avocados are a yummy source! Some people demonize avocados and I don’t understand that! To each his own, I suppose.

  2. I can’t seem to reply to your comment.

    I can understand not *liking* avocados, but yeah, they’re not the enemy! 🙂

    I don’t mean to pick on you; I was looking at the FD website later and noticed it specifically says “no oil” under the salsa — I think they are promoting that a little unnecessarily. It’s sort of like saying apples are cholesterol-free or something; that’s just the natural state of it.

    Also re: chili, it is usually tomato-based, but it doesn’t have to be… I bet you could use tomatillos or just meat (tofu?) and beans with the chili spices.

    1. I forgot to respond to the salsa and oil part of your comment. I’ve noticed some homemade salsas have olive oil in them. For example, the market down the block from my job makes delicious salsa in house with oil. Also, several recipes for making homemade salsa call for a little oil.

      Since I’m trying to avoid excess oil (for general health reasons as well as my particular nutritional needs) and canned tomatoes (for my specific health issues) I was just happy to find a fresh salsa without oil at Fresh Direct, since I order most of my groceries from there. They label everything with “nos” when it comes to oil, dairy, wheat, gluten, nuts, soy, etc. They’re very helpful to people with allergies or specific nutritional plans.

      So it may sound like I’m being weirdly particular about salsa when people only eat a little of it. But I love salsa and have very little self control when it comes to gobbling through it. I think I ate most of the container in two days! I’m also in search of the healthier “chips.”

      I’m not sure why some recipes call for oil in salsa, since it’s not necessary. Maybe because good olive oil is delicious on everything!

      1. I love salsa too, and while I appreciate good olive oil, I’ve never heard of that being an ingredient in salsa — so, I guess I learn something new every day!

        I get it, though, because I too can eat salsa by the gallon.

        (Seriously, I can’t think of any I’ve seen that had oil in it, but maybe I’m just not paying attention.)

  3. […] while I was cooking. I was on the phone with a couple of friends and then I was snacking on chips and salsa. My inattention in the kitchen had its consequences. The rice wasn’t completely cooked, […]

Leave a Reply

