Creative Kitchen

Good morning everyone! This week is flying by! I can’t believe it’s December already! Happy Birthday Erin!

Yesterday, I was feeling a bit tuckered out and I asked Mike if he wanted to go out to eat instead of cooking. He had to work late and be available for questions at home so we couldn’t. I decided I better cook even though it was 8:15 when I got home. I wasn’t really in the mood until I got into the kitchen and then something came over me. I realized I was actually enjoying cooking. It’s the same feeling I get when I knit or crochet.

After sitting at a computer crunching numbers or pushing paper all day, it is so satisfying creating something with my hands. While I love yarn crafting, cooking has an even more immediate payoff: it satisfies hunger. It is also easily shared with friends and helps provide a sense of community.

Me crocheting with Lowell on Erin's bed in our old apartment.

Cooking used to seem like a chore to me or at least a means to an end. Lately, though it is something more, a hobby perhaps? It’s definitely a creative outlet. Cooking in the kitchen helps me transition from the stress of work and the city to the comfort and relaxation of home. If I had a family of five to feed, I might not be saying this, but for now I’m enjoying it! That reminds me, cooking is an expression of love. Ok last night, I expressed my love of curry, not Mike; he doesn’t like Indian food.

I know this has all been said before, but I just wanted to share a little of my joy with you. I was going to share the recipe for my chickpea yellow curry, but I need to tweak it a little first.

What are your creative outlets? Do you enjoy cooking or is it a chore? 

5 comments

  1. What a handsome, orange cat!

    1. He and Halifax live with Erin and Kyle now. I miss the cats in spite of myself!

    2. Lowell is a beautiful boy 🙂

  2. Most nights I enjoy cooking. I like it more on weekends when I feel like I have more time and energy. But I especially like trying something a little different and delighting Matthew … or myself. 🙂

    Lowell, from what I hear, is one weird cat.

  3. […] Hello dear readers! Today’s taste of balance is part of a series I might pursue on getting creative in the kitchen.  […]

Leave a Reply

