No-Dairy Update

Hey guys!

Just wanted to give you a quick update on how I’m doing dairy-free, a week in to my experiment.

The first week has been pretty good; I’ve only had a couple of overt cravings, mostly for pizza and chocolate. And then one sneaky craving where I was peaking in the pantry, looking for dinner, and came out with a box of Annie’s mac and cheese. I honestly don’t remember the last time I ate macaroni and cheese. I didn’t make it, but it was weird to want it.

I have had to make a couple of substitutions; I made hot chocolate the other day and had skip my delicious mixes to make my own (cocoa powder, sugar, and soymilk). I also made a White Russian (a White Vegan?) with vodka, homemade coffee liquor, and…soymilk. I honestly can’t taste the difference when I use soymilk in drinks or baking. I try to buy organic, and I’ve got plans to make my own almond milk, but for now, I use what I can get.

Honestly, the hardest part has been realizing that when I go veg, how much I do rely on dairy products. It’s easy to go meat-free when you can get veggie pizza or bean burritos or grilled cheese and veggie soup. It’s a lot harder to make up interesting meals, and I feel like I’m definitely eating a lot more meat, which is not what I wanted to happen.

(Kyle is reporting that he’s having no problem with cravings, and feeling good about not eating pizza all the time.)

So for the next couple weeks, the experiment continues, with an emphasis on trying not to fill that empty dairy void with processed foods and other animal products, but really keep the focus on whole foods and plants.

 

10 comments

  1. Matthew Zommer · · Reply

    Another dairy substitute that is great in oatmeal or cereal is hemp milk, it’s more expensive than soy but I find it less ‘chalky’.

    1. When I was in Seattle, I had coffee with hemp millk in it (oh those crazy West Coasters) but I haven’t seen it in the grocery store.

      I’m definitely looking for a cereal substitute, because soymilk is not cutting it there. The texture is just…off.

      So I’ll hit up Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s this week and see if I can find it…any brand recommendations?

  2. I couldn’t agree more – it is so much easier to give up the meat than the dairy! I commend you for your efforts – I have not done this successfully. I Have opted for cutting down on dairy – that is as far as I have gotten!!! Good luck – keep going!

    1. Thanks, Anita, and good luck to you too!

  3. Since dairy is hard on my stomach, I rarely eat it. I agree it’s harder for me than meat. I’ve been eating less dairy for a couple months and I don’t have cravings so much as impulses. Last night, Mike wanted a late night snack and decided on cheese and crackers. I had this impulse to reach out and grab the cheddar cheese slices out of his hands and shove them in my mouth. What’s that about?

  4. I love mac + cheese but I make it from scratch, mostly 🙂

    Anyway, I’m glad the hot chocolate turned out well. As you know we don’t buy soymilk but I’ve had it in coffee/drinks and I think it actually really works well for coffee because it’s lightly sweet.

    I can offer you a few ideas for non-cheesey non-meat dinners… mostly involving legumes. Rice + beans is easy, even if you don’t make the beans with sofrito and tomatoes (Puerto Rican style). And I have (as previously mentioned) a yummy lentil-barley stew recipe that’s very hearty and tasty.

  5. Erin,

    Do you have Amy’s Kitchen products in NY? They’re organic and have a black bean & vegetable burrito that’s non dairy and very tasty! It’s my go-to fast lunch since I try to avoid dairy and extra grain products at lunch (so I don’t want a bean and rice burrito . . . but I’m pretty sure they also have a non-dairy one of those.)

    1. Ooh, Kathy, we do have Amy’s stuff here. I actually buy her vegan-friendly refried beans in a can sometimes, but I didn’t realize that she has frozen stuff too! I’ll have to check out my freezer section next time I hit the grocery 🙂

      1. I’ve seen Amy’s frozen pizza too. I think some of it is real cheese but some may be soy cheese.

  6. And they do include dairy in some selections so you have to look at the label: they have an organic tomato soup that’s really good but it has (organic) cream so it’s not vegan. Their black bean and lentil soups are also good . . . but the black bean and vegetable burrito is my favorite because it’s so hard to find a non-dairy, non-rice burrito.

Leave a Reply

