Clean Up Your Act

Good morning, readers! Hope your week is off to a bright start and hopefully you had a wonderful weekend. I had a great one! Mike and I spent some quality time together in and out of the apartment, the Eagles and the Hoosiers won, and we got a lot of things checked off our to do list. Personally, I feel rested and motivated going into the work week.

I don’t always feel this way after the weekend. I often debate whether I should get stuff done or relax on the weekends. Usually, I strive for compromise, but I often miss the balance.

Last weekend, for example, I hardly accomplished anything and I felt stressed all week because of the tasks looming over me. Over the years, I’ve noticed a clean and orderly environment is essential to a balanced mind, body and spirit for me.

On Friday, I was so fed up with the listless winter blues! I was super productive at work, then I came home with plans to crash on the couch with Mike, order food and watch a movie.

Instead, I felt the need to wash dishes, put away clothes, and organize clutter. I couldn’t sit still. I finally calmed down enough to enjoy a quiet evening, until it was time for bed. I was exhausted, but the noise outside the window (I live on a busy street in Manhattan) disturbed me. Besides, all I could think about was my growing to do list.

Now, I feel genuinely relaxed (I’m writing the draft of this on Sunday night). I swept and swiffered the floors, cleaned the bathroom, almost finished my Christmas shopping, ordered groceries, planned meals, cleaned the kitchen and the bathroom. Mike cleaned and organized much of the apartment too. So now I sit in a clean apartment with a much shorter to do list; for the first time in weeks I don’t feel distracted or anxious.

All I can say is I hope you know this feeling too. If not, I hope you find a way to get through the “To Dos” and grind to the other side soon!

Do you have trouble relaxing in a cluttered or messy environment? Do you efficiently check things of your to do list or procrastinate? Does your “to do” list ever seem to weigh you down?

5 comments

  1. I don’t need for the place to be sparkling, but if I’m not totally focused on what I’m doing, I usually find myself getting up and wiping the kitchen counters, putting stray things away, doing a few dishes, etc. Oddly I have a harder time truly relaxing when I’m home alone.

    There’s also always a mental to-do list in my head, which often gets pushed aside. Things like “take the recycling out” or “sort through those coupons” or whatever.

    I seem to be very good at procrastinating, though; it’s just a matter of what I’m procrastinating with 🙂

    1. That’s a great point about “I seem to be very good at procrastinating, though; it’s just a matter of what I’m procrastinating with.” I’m trying to be a more productive procrastinator. So instead of watching Netflix or surfing the internet, write a post or do the dishes. Then at least if the bills aren’t done, the dishes are!

  2. I couldn’t agree more – it is great when the house is tidy and sparkling! I must remember to ask Santa for that magic cleaning wand! He forgot last year!!! 🙂
    Happy Holidays.

    1. If only he would bring me one too!

  3. […] Clean! of course! I must be getting old. Anyway, I was so excited to to clean my closet and dresser drawers. I actually started this cleaning process two weeks ago in a fit of rage when I couldn’t find anything to wear. I know, I know NOT balanced. But I realized as the week went on and I threw more clothes into a pile on the floor, that I felt better about getting dressed in the morning. […]

Leave a Reply

