Big News and Big Changes!

Hi everyone! How are you?

First, the big news! I’m engaged! Mike proposed on Christmas Eve in Brookgreen Gardens, Myrtle Beach, SC. It was sweet, romantic, traditional and absolutely perfect!

Deliriously happy

Mike and I spent most of our free time the last few weeks wedding planning. We’re both getting busier at work as well. So that’s why I haven’t had much time for the blog lately. We hope to put a deposit on a venue and set the date for the wedding soon. Since we’re planning to get married in 2012 (can’t wait!), there is a lot of initial planning to get done with now.

What’s that have to do with Balance and the blog? Well, I personally struggle with stress, people’s expectations, planning, travel–basically anything that changes my routine! At first, I thought planning a wedding would be a test of my balance (like a gail force wind blowing me while I balance on a tight rope?). Now, I’m looking at it as an opportunity to grow and become more balanced.

The most important thing for me to remember, is in less than a year Mike and I will be married and that’s all I want. When I start to get stressed or anxious about hotel prices, transportation, guest lists, dresses, etc… I look at my engagement ring and think about the happy moments…Mike proposing on one knee, dancing at our wedding, being married and on our honeymoon…and many more. Or I sit down with Mike and we talk about the issues and solve them out.

Erin and I were talking about the importance of creative time. It’s like exercise or food, it’s required to keep us balanced and happy. That is still the focus of this blog. Even though both of us are engaged, this won’t become a wedding blog (not that there’s anything wrong with that). I know I need a space to explore the topics we’ve been discussing over the last couple months: health, food, creativity, exercise etc. I hope to continue sharing our successes, struggles and everything in between!

How do you deal with major life changes (like moving, weddings, job changes etc)? Do you love your routine or are you all about spontaneity? 

5 comments

  1. Congratulations on your engagement. I wish you both happiness in your relationship.

    1. Thanks so much!

  2. […] been too busy for fun. Between details for my wedding, getting started on helping Debbie with wedding planning, work, entertaining visitors, and keeping the apartment clean…I’ve had no time to read, […]

  3. Congratulations dear 🙂 (Did I say that on twitter? I meant to…)

Leave a Reply

