Creative Kitchen 2: Big Winter Stew

Hello dear readers! Today’s taste of balance is part of a series I might pursue on getting creative in the kitchen. 

I haven’t had a lot of free time to cook lately so I’ve been mostly steaming vegetables with different grains and sauces. When I finally had some free time on Saturday, I took out almost everything in my fridge and became possessed by the idea of making a vegetable stew.

As you may know, I have an issue with portion control. I made way too much food again! So I’m freezing some for later. The Creative Kitchen series is more about experimentation than recipes, because by the end I have no idea what I put in. So there are lot’s of pictures but not a lot of words.

Hopefully, you’ll find some inspiration! I finally realized the point of reading all these cookbooks and blogs is not to cook every recipe, but to let the information and ideas soak in. So when I’m messing around in the kitchen, hopefully, something edible comes out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This stew actually turned out well. The two big problems: portions and timing! I overcooked the vegetables but after I blended most of them to make the base thick it was okay.

Are you creative in the kitchen or completely by the books? 

4 comments

  1. I really really love that you are coming to the “hippie” side of the food spectrum. These pictures make me happy. Really happy.

    1. It’s funny how life and all of us turn out, isn’t it?

  2. The picture of the vegetables makes me hungry. Specifically, the mushrooms and zucchini make me want to brush the snow off the grill.

    1. Grilled vegetables are quite possibly the best of all vegetables! Someday, I will have a grill…and a rood, deck, patio, or backyard in which to use it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

