Scheduling Fun

Hey all!  I’ve missed you and missed writing, and it looks like Deb and I are getting back into the swing of things, so I hope you missed us too 🙂

For the past month or so, basically since Christmas, I’ve been too busy for fun. Between details for my wedding, getting started on helping Debbie with wedding planning, work, entertaining visitors, and keeping the apartment clean…I’ve had no time to read, write, or crochet.

For me, these things are important to keeping my mental state balanced and healthy. If I go too long without some kind of creative outlet, I start to get cranky and depressed, and more than that, I start to question the other things in my life, like my job and my home life. If the creativity is suffering, I start to transfer that over to these other areas of my life, and pretty soon I’m miserable about everything.

Baking cookies with Adi...not a healthy food, but a great time 🙂

Not balanced, and not healthy.

So I’m scheduling my fun now. It may sound strange to schedule something that I enjoy doing, but I’ve realized that if I don’t make the things I enjoy a priority, they’re they first to slip off the table. I can’t stop working or quit doing laundry…those things do have to get done. So I’ve decided that I’m not going to apologize for taking an hour a day to spend time with a crochet project, or one of the awesome video games I got for Christmas, or teaching myself embroidery. I need those things, in order to remain a recognizable version of myself. Without hobbies and individual interests…we’re all just worker bees.

Teaching my little sister how to crochet!

What are you doing with your hobby time right now? How do you make time for it? Do you get a little crazy when you can’t find the time? 

3 comments

  1. Erin, so glad you posted this! I’m really engaged with reading right now. I’ll be doing a post on it later this week! Glad you’re scheduling fun time! I’m going to do it too!

  2. Most of the time, I don’t have trouble finding time to read. But sometimes, I put off a chore or other not-fun task in the interest of a little downtime. Last night, I could’ve spent a good 45 minutes washing the random non-dishwasher dishes piled in the sink. I decided that I just needed some time to unwind and that the dishes could wait until today. They’re not hurting anyone. 🙂

    I also have my scheduled workout class time, which isn’t much, but it’s a dedicated time for me to exercise and de-stress at once.

  3. […] is, before I allowed too many expectations and bad habits to cloud my perception of happiness. Like Erin said, scheduling time for the things that make you happy is just as important as house chores and […]

Leave a Reply

