For All the Ladies Out There

Hi everyone! Do I have your attention with that title? I hope so! So what’s it all about?

Ladies night! Girls night out! Sisterhood!

Okay fellas you may want to sit this post out…or maybe not.

I just want to talk about how important some time with the gals is for women. This may sound obvious, but there was a time when I didn’t think so. I’m sure you’ve all heard women say one of the following:

I don’t really like women.

I don’t trust women.

I don’t get along with girls.

There were definitely times in my life when I found many female friendships to be catty, dramatic, hollow and confusing. It seems “Frenemies” are mostly a feminine phenomena. Men were at least a straight-forward lot–or so they seemed most of the time.

Since graduating college, my perspective on female friendships has changed. It’s definitely harder to develop male friendships after college. Please see one of my all time favorite movies, When Harry Met Sally, for more information on this:

It just happens the movie also had Louis Armstrong, one of my all time favorite musicians, singing the soundtrack at this point.

Anyway, back to my evolving perspective on friendships with women. As I get older I realize how important these friendships are to me. I have women friends who are strong, intelligent, beautiful, confident, empathetic, in short absolutely wonderful. After I spend time with them, I feel rejuvenated. I feel sane. I feel less alone in the world. I feel balanced.

I think that’s one of the sad parts of pop culture and even classic books–we learn to undervalue our friendships, especially with other women. We are so focused on finding the fairytale ending with a man we forget to appreciate the wonderful women in our lives: mothers, sisters, friends, grandmothers, aunts…

The funny thing about being in a relationship and getting engaged, is I find myself appreciating the women in my life more and more. I love Mike and I’m going to spend the rest of my life with him. Getting engaged is a public statement of that. So I just want to say to all the wonderful women in my life:

Ladies, thank you for your friendship. I can’t imagine my life without you.

Ladies, how do you feel about female friendships? Men, any thoughts–that is if you’re still reading.

5 comments

  1. Having other women to hang out with is absolutely crucial. They’ve done studies — women need other female friends more than men need other male friends. (Which is NOT to discount male-male friendships — just that the female-female bond is really important.) I spent a decent amount of time post-college feeling a bit adrift; I had a few girlfriends along the way via work and that helped, but it’s really only been the past year or so where I’ve found a few ladies I can see every so often for coffee, sushi or just a good bitch session.

    One of my goals for the new year is actually to spend time time each month with at least one of my girlfriends. So far I have January and February covered. 🙂

    1. I Don't Wanna Say · · Reply

      Does it count when you’re a guy with a close female friend, but you’re more of the girl in the friendship than she is?

      1. Male-female friendships can also be very close and emotionally rewarding, but I’m not quite sure it counts the same way. Sorry hon 😉

      2. Thanks for answering, Renita. I agree. I have a few male friends who are very important to me, but there is still a difference with women. It’s an unspoken understanding of certain things.

    2. Glad to hear you have a good group of ladies too!

Leave a Reply

